Ivey, Bryant support Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

Ivey, Bryant support Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

At the daily White House briefing, the press secretary, Sarah Huckabee Sanders, said that Trump "took the initiative" to award himself the Peace Prize rather than "waiting around" for the Nobel committee, in Oslo, to bestow it on him.

Earlier this month, 18 U.S. House Republicans formally nominated Trump, who's preparing for a historic summit with North Korea's Kim Jong Un.

"After almost two decades of gridlock and global anxiety surrounding North Korea's nuclear program, we are now, at last, on the precipice of peace". "There is but one new variable: President Donald J. Trump and his successful policy of security through strength". "There is no one more deserving of the Nobel Peace Prize", the letter states.

The turnaround comes month after Trump rhetoric toward North Korea ignited fears that an armed confrontation with the reclusive country could be looming.

More news: TI Arrested For Disorderly Conduct, Public Drunkenness

The awarding of the Nobel Peace Prize has often been controversial.

Presidents have received the prize in the past.

Former Presidents Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama have all won the Nobel Peace Prize, although Carter was out of office when he won.

Ivey joined Governor's Eddie Baza Calvo of Guam, Jeff Colyer of Kansas, Phil Bryant of Mississippi, Governor of Maine Paul LePage, Henry McMaster of SC, and Governor of West Virgnia, Jim Justice in nominating the President by sending a letter to Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

Related Articles