NYT and New Yorker win joint Pulitzer for Weinstein exposé

NYT and New Yorker win joint Pulitzer for Weinstein exposé

In the music category, Rapper Kendrick Lamar created history by being the first non-classical or jazz artist to win Pulitzer Prize for his album 'D.A.M.N.'. DAMN was released on 14 April 2017, and just a few days after its first anniversary has been honoured as a 'virtuosic song collection unified by its vernacular authenticity and rhythmic dynamism that offers affecting vignettes capturing the complexity of modern African-American life'.

Damn has had lots of acclaim already: it was nominated for Album of the Year and won Best Rap Album at the 60th Annual Grammy Awards, and has been certified double-platinum by the RIAA.

The New York Times and The New Yorker have jointly won the Pulitzer Prize, in the Public Service category for Weinstein exposé.

Lamar has been hailed as a gifted storyteller throughout his music career.

"DAMN" came out in 2017 and it's Lamar's fourth album.

The Pulitzer board has awarded special honours to Bob Dylan, Duke Ellington, George Gershwin, Thelonious Monk, John Coltrane and Hank Williams.

Lamar, 30, is the first rapper to win the prestigious award.

More news: How to file for an extension on your taxes

The Press Democrat of Santa Rosa, California, won the breaking news award for coverage of the wildfires that swept through California's wine country last fall. Kendrick's album beat two other finalists, a string quartet performed at Carnegie hall and a cantata written for chamber choir, guitar and percussion.

In announcing the journalism prizes, Pulitzer administrator Dana Canedy said the winners "uphold the highest objective of a free and independent press, even in the most trying of times".

The New York Times and the Washington Post shared the Pulitzer Prize in National Reporting for its coverage of Trump and Russian Federation.

Fans of the rapper have celebrated Lamar's unexpected but well-deserved win.

Lamar hardly needed the help, but Pulitzers often boost sales for winning authors, playwrights and musicians and ensure attention for future works.

Usually, one victor and two finalists are chosen and none are announced in advance; there have also been years where no victor was chosen for certain awards. Jack E. Davis' The Gulf: The Making of an American Sea won for history, while the general nonfiction prize went to James Forman Jr's Locking Up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America. In a text Monday, Kelly described the prize as an "incredible honor" but added: "Mostly I'm still heartbroken for Heather Heyer's family and everybody else who was affected by that tragic violence".

Related Articles