BJP's 4th RS nomination causes flutter in polls

BJP's 4th RS nomination causes flutter in polls

Former Maharashtra chief minister Narayan Rane, who switched from Shiv Sena to the Congress, will now be the BJP's candidate from Maharashtra for the Rajya Sabha polls due on March 23.

BJP state General Secretary N Ravikumar has made a controversial statement by calling Dakshina Kannada district incharge Minister Ramanath Rai, and Food and Civil Supplies Minister UT Khader "terrorists".

Meanwhile, the BJP has named two-time independent member of the Rajya Sabha from the State and media entrepreneur Rajeev Chandrashekar as the party's sole candidate.

BJP leaders Dharmendra Pradhan, Thawar Chand Gehlot, Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni filed nominations in the Vidhan Sabha premises here.

Tribal leader and MLA Kirori Meena, sitting Rajya Sabha MP Bhupendra Yadav and veteran party leader Madan Lal Saini filed nominations from Rajasthan.

The previous Rajya Sabha election in Gujarat was the first in two decades that witnessed voting.

More news: India Forest Fire Toll Rises To 10

Today was the last day for filing of nominations for the biennial elections.

"Congress has fielded two candidates for Gujarat and are supporting an independent candidate who is wishing to fight against the BJP". Based on party strengths, the six Rajya Sabha seats are evenly divided between the NDA and the UPA. "Only the candidates who have ground-level support, match the caste combination of the constituency and knows what to do to win in the said constituency will be given the ticket", sources said.

Senior lawyer and Congress spokesman Abhishek Manu Singvi filed his nomination from West Bengal with the support of the state's ruling TMC.

The Congress has 123 members, including Speaker, BJP - 43, JD (S) - 37, Badavara Shramikarra Raithara Paksha - 3, Karnataka Janata Paksha - 2, Karnataka Makkala Paksha - 1, Independents - 8, and nominated - 1.

With Congress fielding a Vokkaliga leader, the JD (S) will have the hard choice of backing its own candidate or voting for a Vokkaliga, its main support base. Fearing defections and allegedly facing threats, the Congress had then packed off its MLAs to a luxury resort near Bengaluru. Former union minister Subodh Kant Sahay, former minister Rajendra Singh and Sahu were in the race from Jharkhand.

Related Articles