BJP releases list of 18 RS nominees

BJP releases list of 18 RS nominees

PTI reported that Chandrasekhar would join the BJP on Monday. "With Patangrao Kadam's recent demise, Congress's strength has been reduced from 42 to 41and its two MLAs Nitesh Rane and Kalidas Kolmbkar are considered to be Rane loyalists so it is likely they might not vote in favour of the Congress".

The surprise pick from Uttar Pradesh was, however, Sakal Deep Rajbhar.

The BSP has named former legislator Bhim Rao Ambedkar as its candidate while the SP has nominated actress-turned-politician Jaya Bachchan for the fourth time.

In Bihar, there are six vacancies. So, the Congress has only 38 votes and is trying to get three to four additional votes. "We are sure that many MLAs will vote for us in view of the development work being carried out under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and chief minister Yogi Adityanath", he said. Read Also: Cong names Rathwa, Yajnik for Rajya SabhaRumour mills After Congress officially declared the names of its two candidates from Delhi late on Sunday, news surfaced that Rathwa would be replaced by Rajiv Shukla who would be flying to Gujarat. With 122 members, the BJP can easily send three of its candidates to the Rajya Sabha.

More news: A Farewell to Cameron Diaz's Acting Career

The Congress and BJP announced the list of candidates only yesterday.

The Congress fielded two candidates - tribal leader Naran Rathwa and State unit spokesperson Amee Yajnik. Union Minister of State for Road Transport and Highways Mansukh L Mandaviya and Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Parshottam Rupala will contest election from Gujarat. There seems to be a fight between Congress's third candidate and Farooq. Deputy chief minister Nitin Patel alleged, "Congress continues to suffer from factionalism". Saroj Pandey will represent BJP from Chhattisgarh.

Mr Rane resigned from the Congress in September a year ago to form his own party, the Maharashtra Swabhiman Paksh, and allied with the NDA government. "The BJP has repeatedly nominated and elected non-Kannadigas as Rajya Sabha representatives from Karnataka, the latest being Rajeev Chandrasekhar".

In terms of caste equation, the party has chose to field Naseer Hussain, a minority community leader from Ballari, L. Hanumanthaiah, a dalit from Bengaluru Rural and G.C. Chandrashekar a Vokkaliga from Hassan.

Related Articles