Mayfield wins Walter Camp Player of the Year award

Mayfield wins Walter Camp Player of the Year award

During the early part of the summer of 2016, it looked like Baker Mayfield's 2017 season at Oklahoma wouldn't even happen. He was at Texas Tech, and played as a freshman, but ended up transferring to Oklahoma. In 2015, Alabama running back Derrick Henry edged out Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey.

"Watching the event in my living room and always having the family there and seeing who would win", Mayfield said on Monday morning, per AP writer Cliff Brunt.

The awards keep rolling in for Baker Mayfield. Mayfield is favored to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.

Mayfield ruled college football this season. On the field, Mayfield set a new FBS record for passing efficiency, breaking his own record set in 2016.

This season, Mayfield has led the No. 2 Sooners (12-1) to the Big 12 championship and the College Football Playoff.

Jackson makes his second trip to NY after winning the award in 2016. With a decent bowl game, he will also exceed his total passing and rushing yards from last season. He racked up 1,973 yards and 17 touchdowns on the ground in a year when he clearly wasn't healthy the whole way through.

With 1,973 rushing yards and an average of 8.3 yards per carry, Love has been sensational.

More news: Giant Food Stores donate to Salvation Army of York

The award will be officially handed out this Saturday night in New York City.

According to, Ohio State's Troy Smith holds the record for earning the highest percentage of possible voting points at 91.6 percent. Last year, he was one of five finalists and finished third behind Jackson and Clemson's Deshaun Watson.

He joins Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003) and Sam Bradford (2008) as previous winners from Oklahoma.

Darnold didn't get invited to NY as a finalist.

Mayfield returns to NY, where he finished third in the 2016 voting and will likely become the first candidate to win the award after being selected as a finalist the previous season since USC's Reggie Bush in 2005. The others are Doug Flutie (1984 winner), Vinny Testaverde (1986 winner), Danny Wuerffel (1996 winner), and Reggie Bush (2005 victor, whose win, somewhat hilariously, erased from the voting history page on the Heisman website). "I've always had fun watching the Heisman ceremony".

Eli Manning is tied with his brother, Peyton, with one Heisman finalist trip to NY and zero Heisman trophies. He also hosts afternoon drive on SportsRadio 610, as well as the post game show for the Houston Texans.

Listen to Sean Pendergast on SportsRadio 610 from 2 to 6 p.m. weekdays.

Related Articles