Von Miller nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Von Miller nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

For the Vikings, it was defensive end Brian Robison.

All 32 National Football League teams nominate one player for the award, named for the late Steelers owner.

The eight finalists will be announced when players vote on December 15.

The Art Rooney Award was created in 2014 and is named after Art Rooney, the late founder of the Pittsburgh Steelers. Players can not vote for someone from their own team.

More news: Skier Poisson hits tree in training crash death

Each team nominated a player for the award, which recognizes whomever "best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition".

Robison will join a nominee from each of the other 31 NFL clubs, and a panel of NFL Legends will select eight finalists (four from AFC teams and four from NFC teams).

The victor is selected by the NFL players and the NFL Players Association and will be eligible to receive a $25,000 donation to the charity of the recipient of the award's choice, as for provided by the NFL Foundation. The victor gets a trophy and a $25,000 donation from the league to a charity of his choice. Raiders great Charles Woodson won the award in 2015 and Larry Fitzgerald of the Cardinals received the inaugural award in 2014.

Related Articles