Seymour On Pro Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Seymour On Pro Football Hall of Fame Ballot

Of the 108 players and coaches announced as nominees Tuesday, 18 will be picked as finalists, who will be put up for a vote by the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee the day before Super Bowl LII in Minneapolis.

Steve Smith Sr., who Carolina Panthers fans and Baltimore Ravens fans alike have cherished throughout his 16-year, 1,000-catch and almost 15,000-yard career with both teams, is not actually eligible since he just retired last year (he's now an NFL Network analyst).

The Denver Broncos' representation in the Pro Football Hall of Fame will likely continue to grow in the coming years.

Faneca has been a finalist the past two years, while Ward did not make the finals in his first year of eligibility.

James played 11 National Football League seasons, including his first seven with the Indianapolis Colts. The Steve Smith who had modest career totals of 2,641 yards and 12 touchdowns. He would return to start all 16 games the following season. He played for another 11 seasons after leaving the Saints.

More news: Rishi Kapoor takes to Twitter to give 'dynasty lessons' to Rahul Gandhi

Donaldson also had successful stops in Seattle (1993 and 1994) and Dallas (1995 and 1996) after his days in Indianapolis were over, earning Pro Bowl selections with the Cowboys both seasons. He was infamously left out of the Hall past year. That's a solid career, but it's not even arguably a Hall of Fame one.

Hinton joined the Colts in a trade that sent John Elway to the Denver Broncos and left the club in a trade with the Atlanta Falcons in 1990. Lynch is in the Broncos' Ring of Fame and the Buccaneers' Ring of Honor. The Baltimore Ravens initially signed him as a free agent that April, but waived him less than two months later. He was the team's starting center by 2000, and the rest, as they say, is history. He was named to the Pro Bowl nine times during his career and was an All Pro six times. He was also the starting center on the Colts' championship team in Super Bowl XLI.

Defensive linemen: La'Roi Glover (DT/NT), Leonard Marshall (DE/DT), Keith Millard (DT/NT/DE), Leslie O'Neal (DE), Michael Dean Perry (DT/DE), Simeon Rice (DE), Richard Seymour (DT), Neil Smith (DE), Greg Townsend (DE/NT/LB), Kyle Vanden Bosch (DE), Bryant Young (DT). From there, 15 finalists will be named in January and the final vote will take place February 3. The Class of 2018 will be determined February 3 in Minneapolis, the day before Super Bowl LII. The selection process bylaws provide that four to eight inductees will be selected.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 will be formally enshrined next August in Canton. However, the most logical explanation seems to be a pretty classic case of identity confusion, where the Giants' Steve Smith was forgotten while the accolades of the Panthers' Steve Smith, with his name right there on the ballot, caused the nominators to forget about that pesky five-year rule.

Related Articles